skip to content

Early Career Scientist Programme Committee

  • Annika Dziggel, Universität Aachen
  • Raul Fonseca, Universität Bonn
  • Dominik Hezel, Universität zu Köln
  • J. Elis Hoffmann, Universität Berlin
  • Tim Johnson, Universität Mainz
  • Thomas Mueller, Universität Bochum
  • Elizabeth Swanner, Universität Tübingen

Young Scientist Mobility Scholarship

To support own initiatives by young scientists that are not covered by individual SPP 1833 projects, we provide scholarships for activities by young scientists. Such activities may include visits to other laboratories, sampling campaigns or young scientist meetings to improve networking between PhD students or postdocs active within our framework. The scholarship awards are handled by the co-ordination office, please contact

Here, we present exemplary initiatives funded by the Young Scientist Mobility Scholarship:

David Ernst (Jacobs University Bremen), Stay at Bjørnevatn Iron-ore mine

Ashley Martin (Hannover University) Stay at University of St Andrews

Yinggang Zhang (Nanjing University) Stay at FU Berlin

Matthias Schmitz (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena) Stay at Stellenbosch University

Matthias Schmitz (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena) Stay at St. Etienne University


With the Young Scientist Mobility Scholarship we are able to fund visits to other laboratories (Foto: Stürtz).